HelpLine 1-800-298-2436

Lung Cancer Treatment Programs

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. District of Columbia
  10. Florida
  11. Georgia
  12. Hawaii
  13. Idaho
  14. Illinois
  15. Indiana
  16. Iowa
  17. Kansas
  18. Kentucky
  19. Louisiana
  20. Maine
  21. Maryland
  22. Massachusetts
  23. Michigan
  24. Minnesota
  25. Mississippi
  26. Missouri
  27. Montana
  28. Nebraska
  29. Nevada
  30. New Hampshire
  31. New Jersey
  32. New Mexico
  33. New York
  34. North Carolina
  35. North Dakota
  36. Ohio
  37. Oklahoma
  38. Oregon
  39. Pennsylvania
  40. Rhode Island
  41. South Carolina
  42. South Dakota
  43. Tennessee
  44. Texas
  45. Utah
  46. Vermont
  47. Virginia
  48. Washington
  49. West Virginia
  50. Wisconsin
  51. Wyoming

How did we select the centers on this list?

We start with the centers that could be considered “the best” in the country for lung cancer--those that are not only National Cancer Institute (NCI) designated cancer centers, but are also lung cancer Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPOREs). There are four lung cancer SPOREs in the country and they are specially funded to bring research in lung cancer to the patient faster.  

In addition to the lung SPOREs, we refer patients to all NCI designated Cancer Centers and Comprehensive Cancer Centers, * as well as NCI Community Cancer Centers Programs.** Most of those centers offer lung cancer specific treatment programs and all have expertise treating the disease.  

If an NCI center doesn’t fit your needs, we then turn to The American College of Surgeon’s Commission on Cancer (CoC) approved centers.*** Our list only includes CoC approved centers with lung cancer specific treatment programs, lung tumor boards or multi-disciplinary teams for lung cancer.  If a center is both an NCI center and a CoC center, it is listed under NCI.

Sometimes, we find lung cancer treatment programs at centers that are not on either list and have included those programs as well.

If there is not one of these centers near you, check the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) patient-friendly website,  There you can search their Find a Cancer Doctor list to find a lung cancer specialist near you or contact us at 1-800-298-2436 or for help finding the best care in your area.

*NCI is part of the National Institutes of Health and is responsible for conducting and supporting cancer-related research, training physicians and scientists and publishing information about all things cancer. NCI cancer centers follow strict standards and are cancer centers of treatment and research excellence.

**The NCI Community Cancer Centers Program is a network of 30 community hospitals in 22 states supporting cancer research and enhancing cancer care for patients close to home.

***The American College of Surgeons Commission on Cancer (CoC) centers meet accreditation standards to ensure quality, multidisciplinary approach, and comprehensive cancer care delivery.